KL Rahul gets job as India’s Vice-Captain for the upcoming Test Series in South Africa


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has named KL Rahul as Rohit Sharma’s replacement as vice-captain of the Indian team for the three-match Test series in South Africa that starts on December 26. Rohit had picked up a hamstring injury during a training session before the team’s departure for the South Africa tour.

Earlier this week, the BCCI in an official press release, confirmed that Rohit had been ruled out due to a left hamstring injury. The star batter had also missed a limited-overs series in Australia last year due to a hamstring injury. “The All-India Senior selection committee has named KL Rahul as vice-captain for the upcoming 3-match Test series against South Africa. KL Rahul replaces Rohit Sharma as vice-captain, who was ruled out of the Test series owing to a hamstring injury,” the BCCI stated in a press release on Saturday.

The BCCI officially announced Priyank Panchal, Gujarat and India A captain for 2 out of the 3 four-day matches recently in South Africa, as Rohit’s replacement for the Test series. The first Test of the series will start on Boxing Day in Centurion. It will be followed by the second Test in Johannesburg from January 3 and the third and final Test in Cape Town from January 11. India will also face the Proteas in three ODI matches after the Test series.

Hence, here is the final India’s Test squad for South Africa series: Virat Kohli (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Priyank Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here