New Zealand revealed Women’s squad for India series and World Cup


New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has announced their Women’s team squad for the upcoming India series and the World Cup to be played at home. Veteran all-rounder Sophie Devine is set to lead the side while Amy Satterthwaite will be her deputy. Spinner Leigh Kasperek has been left out for the showpiece event despite picking 42 wickets in 26 ODIs since the last Women’s World Cup that was played in 2017.

The squad has a fair amount of experience with Suzie Bates, along with Devine and Satterthwaite, featuring in their fourth World Cup. Even wicketkeeper Katey Martin and pace bowler Lea Tahuhu will play in their third mega event in the format. The spin bowling attack will be led by leg-spinner Amelia Kerr in the absence of Kasperek now. Frankie Mackay and Fran Jonas are the other two spinners in the squad.

Coach Bob Carter felt for Kasperek while speaking of her exclusion and cleared that they went for an extra batter. “I really felt for Leigh, she’s a really fine bowler. It was based around the balance of our team. We didn’t have any of the three spinners that we’ve selected for the World Cup in the UK, and it came down to a choice – would we take an extra spinner or would we take an extra batter, and that created a lot of debate. “I really feel for her because she’s been a great member of the White Ferns, and it’s at times like that, as a selector or coach that I wish I could have had another place,” he said. Hannah Rowe, Rosemary Mair and Jess Kerr are the other seam bowling options alongside Tahuhu while Hayley Jensen will fill the seam bowling all-rounder’s slot.

New Zealand will face the Mithali Raj-led team India before the World Cup in the five-match ODI series. The same group announced for the mega event will compete in this series starting from February 9. All the matches of the series are set to be played at the John Davies Oval in Queenstown. As for the World Cup, the White Ferns will start their campaign against the West Indies on March 4 in Mount Mount Maunganui. They will face India in the third game on March 10 at the Seddon Park in Hamilton.

Here is New Zealand Women squad for India series and World Cup: Sophie Devine (c), Amy Satterthwaite(vc), Suzie Bates, Lauren Down, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Melie Kerr, Frankie Mackay, Rosemary Mair, Katey Martin, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here