Which country’s Selection Committee has announced the T20I squad for series against India? 


upcoming T20I series commencing February 24th in Lucknow. Dasun Shanaka, Sri Lanka’s current T20I captain, will lead the 18-member squad to India with Charith Asalanka being named as the vice-Captain. Also, three of the previous squad members in Avishka Fernando, Nuwan Thushara and Ramesh Mendis, who were in Sri Lanka’s touring party for the recently concluded T20I series against Australia will not be travelling to India as they make their way back home owing to injuries.

Wanindu Hasaranga, who had missed the last three T20Is owing to a positive COVID result, will make his return to the squad with uncapped spinner Ashian Daniel also making the cut, though, “subjected to ministerial approval”. On Sri Lanka’s last T20I assignment in the five-match series down under, they came second in four of their five games. Even though they lost the series 1-4, Sri Lanka would return with a lot of vital information in regards to the Australian conditions leading into this year’s World T20 also slated to be hosted in Australia.

Sri Lanka’s tour to India comprises three T20Is followed by two Test matches. While Sri Lanka is coming off a poor series, India would be riding high on the back of a 3-0 whitewash that they inflicted on the West Indies in the recently concluded T20I series.

Here is the T20I squad of Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka (VC), Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashian Daniel (Subjected to Ministerial approval).

Here is the schedule of India vs Sri Lanka 2022 tour

1st T20I – February 24, Thursday – 7:00 pm IST – Lucknow
2nd T20I – February 26, Saturday – 7:00 pm IST – Dharamsala
3rd T20I – February 27, Sunday – 7:00 pm IST – Dharamsala
1st Test – March 4-March 8 – 9:30 am IST – Mohali
2nd Test – March 12-March 16- 9:30 am IST – Bengalur


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here