BCCIBCCI Has Revealed A 17-Member Test Squad For The Fifth Rescheduled Test...

    BCCI Has Revealed A 17-Member Test Squad For The Fifth Rescheduled Test Match Against England


    BCCI has announced a 17-member Test squad for the fifth rescheduled Test match against England. Cheteshwar Pujara has made his comeback after being dropped for the home series against Sri Lanka. However, he showed some great form by plundering runs in the County Championship playing for Sussex. Meanwhile, Ajinkya Rahane who was part of the England tour last year hasn’t been included as he was dropped from the team and he is out of action due to injury as well.

    Meanwhile, Prasidh Krishna has also been rewarded for his efforts while the pace sensation Umran Malik hasn’t been picked in the Test squad. Many experts including Sunil Gavaskar and Kevin Pietersen backed him to play the Test match in England. India is currently leading the series 2-1 and has a chance of winning it after a long time. With Pujara returning to the squad, it remains to be seen who bats at number three as Hanuma Vihari batted at that position during the home series. Ishant Sharma is another player missing from India’s squad who traveled to England last year and with Krishna’s inclusion, it seems the selectors are moving on from the veteran to prepare the next pool of fast bowlers.

    All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has made it to the Test squad despite his IPL season abruptly ending due to an injury. Ravi Ashwin is another spinner while KS Bharat is now India’s back-up wicketkeeper to Rishabh Pant. The squad is likely to leave for England on June 15 and will play a 4-day warm-up game from June 24 against Leicestershire. Apart from the Test match, India and England will also face each other in three ODIs and T20Is each from July 7 to 17.

    Here is the Indian team for the 5th Test vs England: Rohit Sharma (Capt), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here