Cricket NewsWest Indies’ 3-star players Ruled Out from the squad Of ODIs vs...

    West Indies’ 3-star players Ruled Out from the squad Of ODIs vs New Zealand  


    Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul, and Gudakesh Motie were ruled out of the West Indies’ next ODI series against New Zealand, dealing a severe setback to the team. Shimron Hetmyer, a left-handed batter, is absent owing to personal matters; Keemo Paul, an all-rounder, is sidelined with an injury; and Gudakesh Motie, a left-arm spinner, has not fully recovered from a hand injury incurred during the CG United Series against India last month. Jermaine Blackwood, a middle-order batter, and Yannic Sariah, an all-around pitcher with a leg kick, are the replacements. 

    Blackwood receives his first ODI squad call-up since 2015 today. After being promoted from the West Indies, Sariah receives his maiden West Indies squad call-up. a group that competed against Bangladesh. The seam-bowling all-rounder Odean Smith has been added as a reserve. The West Indies team for the three-match CG United One-Day International (ODI) Series against New Zealand, which begins on Wednesday, August 17, has undergone alterations, according to the Cricket West Indies (CWI) Senior Men’s Selection Panel on Tuesday.

    All three ODIs will be day/night matches played under floodlights at Kensington Oval with the 2nd and 3rd CG United ODIs on August 19 and 21. “Hetmyer has to attend to a family matter in Guyana. Unfortunately, Motie is not yet able to rejoin the squad and Keemo is struggling with an injury. However, it provides an opportunity for Yannic Sariah to get a chance. He is someone that has been performing well on the regional circuit and we feel now is the right time to integrate him into the senior team set-up. Odean Smith has been added on the back of some notable performances in the T20I Series. He has displayed the all-around ability to change games and we look forward to his continued development,” CWI’s lead selector, Desmond Haynes, said.

    Here’s West Indies ODI squad: Nicholas Pooran (capt), Shai Hope, Jermaine Blackwood, Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Sariah, Kacy Carty, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Jayden Seales, and Kevin Sinclair.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here