Cricket NewsAustralia's All-rounder has been included in Australia's T20 World Cup squad while...

    Australia’s All-rounder has been included in Australia’s T20 World Cup squad while David Warner will miss the T20I series against India


    A 15-person roster for the 2018 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was released by Cricket Australia (CA) on Thursday. Tim David, an all-rounder, has been selected for the team, while Aaron Finch will serve as the team’s captain as Australia attempts to retain its T20 World Cup championship at home. The team defeated New Zealand in the summit match to win the championship the previous year. Before returning home to play the West Indies and England ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which begins against New Zealand at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on October 22, Australia will go to India for three T20 Internationals in September.

    With one exception, the same team will represent Australia in the T20I series against India. “As a part of a planned period of preparation for a full summer schedule, David Warner will miss the Indian trip. The team for the Indian T20 Series includes Cameron Green “said a press release from Cricket Australia. Born in Singapore, and raised in Perth Leg spinner Mitchell Swepson, who was a member of the team that defeated New Zealand in the T20 World Cup final in Dubai last year, has been left out, and Tim David has been added.

    While Adam Zampa rejoins the T20 team following the birth of his son Eugene, Pat Cummins returns to action after missing the ODI Series against Zimbabwe and New Zealand in North Queensland for a period of physical preparation and recuperation. “This is a similar squad to that which became the first Australian’s men’s team to win a T20 World Cup who are now very excited about playing the tournament at home,” selector George Bailey stated in an official release. “Tim (David) continues to establish himself with some quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a highly gifted, natural ball striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket. We expect him to play a similar role to that he has been playing in the past few years,” he added.

    Australia squad for three T20Is vs India: Australia’s T20 World Cup squad: Aaron Finch (c), Cameron Green, Pat Cummins, Ashton Agar, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Kane Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa. Australia’s T20 World Cup squad: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Pat Cummins, Ashton Agar, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Kane Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here