BCCIIndia's squad for the three-match series against South Africa now includes Shreyas...

    India’s squad for the three-match series against South Africa now includes Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, and Umesh Yadav, while Deepak Hooda is out due to a back ailment.


    The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Wednesday that Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, and Umesh Yadav have been added to India’s squad for the three-match T20I series against South Africa, while Deepak Hooda has been ruled out due to injury. “Deepak Hooda is ruled out of the upcoming Mastercard South Africa Tour of India after sustaining a back injury. The all-rounder is at NCA for further management of his injury,” the BCCI said in its statement.

    “Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have also reported to the NCA for conditioning-related work while Arshdeep Singh has linked up with the squad in Thiruvananthapuram,” the statement added. Mohammed Shami has not fully recovered from COVID-19, and the BCCI has confirmed that he will not play in the series. Umesh Yadav, who was brought in to fill in for Shami during the just-completed series against Australia, has been kept on for the next South Africa series as well. On Wednesday in Thiruvananthapuram, the opening T20I will feature a match between South Africa and India. India’s penultimate T20I match before travelling to Australia for the 2022 T20 World Cup, which starts in a month, will be this one.

    India squad for South Africa T20Is Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here