T20 World CupDilshan Madushanka is replaced by Binura Fernando in Sri Lanka's T20 World...

    Dilshan Madushanka is replaced by Binura Fernando in Sri Lanka’s T20 World Cup roster.


    Binura Fernando has been authorised by the Event Technical Committee of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 to take Dilshan Madushanka’s place in the Sri Lankan team as a left-arm fast bowler. After Madushanka was forced to withdraw due to a torn quad muscle, Fernando, who has participated in nine T20Is, was selected as a replacement. Fernando will depart from Sri Lanka and arrive in Australia to join the rest of the team. Before a player who has been replaced may be formally included to the squad, the Event Technical Committee must give its permission.

    Wasim Khan, ICC General Manager – Cricket (Chair), Chris Tetley, ICC Head of Events, Peter Roach, Cricket Australia, Shane Doyle, Men’s T20 World Cup Local Organising Committee, Shaun Pollock (Independent), and Ian Bishop make up the Event Technical Committee for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. (Independent). Sri Lanka began their campaign in the international competition by playing Namibia in their campaign opener of the First-Round after taking home the Asia Cup 2022 earlier this month. The Asian champions, who were expected to win their group, fell to Namibia in their first game.

    The Dasun Shanaka-led Sri Lanka must now win its final two games against the Netherlands and the UAE in order to maintain its Super 12 chances. On October 18, Sri Lanka will play the United Arab Emirates, and on October 20, they will play the Netherlands in their final group match. Round one pairings for Sri Lanka are Namibia, the Netherlands, and the United Arab Emirates. Each club will play the other three teams once in a single round-robin match, and the top two teams in each group’s points standing advance to the Super 12.

    Here’s the Sri Lanka’s updated squad: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wicketkeeper), Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan.
    Reserves: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Nuwanido Fernando.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here